Skip to main content

Table 1 Overview of the four medical education departments in this study

From: Medical education departments: a study of four medical schools in Sub-Saharan Africa

School/college/Faculty name 1 2 3 4
School of Medicine, University of Zambia, Zambia Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences, Stellenbosch University, South Africa College of Medicine, University of Ibadan, Nigeria College of Health Sciences, University of Zimbabwe, Zimbabwe
University established 1966 1866 1948 1952
First medical student intake 1968 1956 1954 1963
HPE programs offered Nursing, Pharmacy, Biomedical Sciences, Environmental Health & Physiotherapy. Physiotherapy, Occupational Therapy, Dietetics, Speech-Language & Hearing Therapy. Dentistry, Nursing, Physiotherapy & Human Nutrition and Dietetics. Nursing, Dentistry, Pharmacy, Public Health, Radiography, Medical Laboratory Science & Rehabilitation Science.
ME or HPE department established 2000 2006 2012 2014
Reason for establishing ME or HPE department Following the merger of two complimentary teaching support units Location away from main campus which had a functional unit. Growing need to support teaching and learning To induct and train new staff To support ongoing curricular reforms
Person in charge Head Director Head Director
Reporting structure Dean Dean Provost Dean
Staff structure (including directors) 7 academics 6 academics 4 academics 3 academics
1 administrator 4 administrators 2 administrators 3 administrators